General Election – candidates in Bury confirmed

The candidates for the Bury North and Bury South seats in the 4 July General Election have been confirmed.

They are:

Bury North

  • Mark Alcock (Liberal Democrat)
  • Shafat Ali (Workers Party)
  • James Daly (Conservative)
  • Spencer Donnelly (Independent)
  • James Frith (Labour)
  • Anwarul Haq (Independent)
  • Lynda Rosewell (Reform UK)
  • Owain Sutton (Green Party)

Bury South

  • Jeff Armstrong (Reform UK)
  • Sameera Ashraf (Workers Party)
  • Michael Elston (Independent)
  • Stephen Morris (English Democrats)
  • Andrew Page (Liberal Democrat)
  • Dan Ross (Communist Party of Britain)
  • Arnie Saunders (Conservative)
  • Christian Wakeford (Labour)
  • Michael Welton (Green Party)

Important information:

  • Residents have until 18 June to make sure they are on the electoral register and entitled to vote in the election. To register, go to
  • The closing date for requesting a postal vote is 19 June: go to
  • Remember that you will need photo ID to vote in person on election day. Acceptable forms of ID are listed here: electoralcommission.org.uk/voterID or call their helpline on 0800 328 0280. If you do not have suitable photo ID, you can apply for a Voter Authority Certificate by 26 June – go to www.gov.uk/apply-for-photo-id-voter-authority-certificateor call the helpline 0800 328 0280.

Press release issued: 7 June 2024.

Related Articles

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

Back to top button