BoltonCoronavirusLocal NewsOldhamRochdaleSalfordStockportTameside

Tier-3 areas in Greater Manchester to receive rapid COVID testing

67 areas in UK part of new programme

Table of Contents

The UK government is introducing rapid lateral flow tests to 67 Tier-3 communities across the country.

The hope is this will help flatten the curve of COVID.

Which areas of Manchester will receive the test?

Eight areas of Greater Manchester will be among those communities that will take part in the programme.

They include Bolton, Oldham, Rochdale, Stockport, Salford, Tameside Trafford, and Wigan.

All communities involved in this first wave of testing will receive government support for the duration of the programme which lasts six weeks.

This new testing is an add-on to the schemes implemented by local directors of public health.

Health Secretary Matt Hancock says the enhanced testing programmes are a “vital additional tool” when it comes to asymptomatic cases.

This news follows the mass testing pilot that took place in Liverpool.

Conflicting Data

On Friday some early data from that pilot project in Liverpool was released suggesting there may be a few flaws in the testing.

Data from the Scientific Advisory Group for Emergencies (Sage) suggests that the rapid testing missed almost 51% of all cases of COVID-19.

How the rapid test works

For this test, a patient gets a swab of their nose or throat before a specimen is added to the extraction tube.

After that drops of extraction, and a solution is added to the test cartridges.

You then wait 20-30 minutes before you find out the results.

All you need to know

In Oldham, the increased access to testing initially will focus on schools and colleges, plus higher-risk supported living accommodation, and health and social care staff.

More than 1.6 million rapid flow tests will be delivered this month.

Recently Dr. Susan Hopkins, senior medical adviser to NHS Test called the rapid tests a “game-changer”.

Here’s a look at all the Tier-3 areas that will receive rapid testing:

  • Amber Valley
  • Ashford
  • Barnsley
  • Birmingham
  • Blackburn with Darwen
  • Blackpool
  • Bolsover
  • Bolton
  • Bradford
  • Burnley
  • Bury
  • Cannock Chase
  • Canterbury
  • Chesterfield
  • Chorley
  • Darlington
  • Dartford
  • Derbyshire Dales
  • Dover
  • Dudley
  • East Staffordshire
  • Folkestone and Hythe
  • Fylde
  • Gravesham
  • Hyndburn
  • Kirklees
  • Lancaster
  • Lichfield
  • Maidstone
  • Manchester
  • Medway
  • North East Derbyshire
  • Newcastle-under-Lyme
  • North Warwickshire
  • Nuneaton and Bedworth
  • Oldham
  • Pendle
  • Preston
  • Ribble Valley
  • Rochdale
  • Rossendale
  • Rugby
  • Salford
  • South Derbyshire
  • Sandwell
  • Sevenoaks
  • Solihull
  • South Ribble
  • South Staffordshire
  • Stafford
  • Staffordshire Moorlands
  • Stockport
  • Stockton on Tees
  • Stoke-on-Trent
  • Stratford-upon-Avon
  • Swale
  • Tameside
  • Tamworth
  • Thanet
  • Tonbridge and Malling
  • Trafford
  • Tunbridge Wells
  • Warwick
  • West Lancashire
  • Wigan
  • Wolverhampton
  • Wyr

Testing will begin on Monday. (JSL).

Related Articles

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

Back to top button